top of page

Enjoying Life At 50-Something! Living In The Moment



There are so many directions I could take this subject in, such as sharing that 50-something is not the "old" I once thought it was to talking about all the new grandbabies that have come along by now, or knowing myself better at this stage, but I'm honestly not very interested in any of that at the moment. I'm, actually, more interested in the spiritual side of this.


For me, my faith is my life. I am no longer that lost little girl I once was who was trying to find herself while navigating through a big world she didn't know much about. You know, like most of us were at one time or another. Thankfully, with time, my eyes were opened and I found salvation. Being a Christian is the reason I can enjoy life at 50-something and live in the moment. And honestly, how could I any other way?


When I look around I see a lot of the world fully enjoying themselves. As the Scriptures say in Ecclesiastes 3:13, "And also that every man should eat and drink, and enjoy the good of all his labor, it is the gift of God," it is apparent that God wants everyone to find enjoyment and fulfillment in their efforts. He wants everyone to work hard and then take time to rest and unwind. It is His gift to everyone and one, it seems, everyone appreciates. I think there is a difference, though, in the kind of enjoyment a child of God has versus the kind of enjoyment a nonbeliever has. Don't you? Here are a few differences I see:


Enjoyment of a child of God


  • Gives thanks and praises God for His gift.

  • Is careful to seek wise and good companions to find enjoyment with.

  • Is careful to enjoy those things that are of good repute and not a stumbling block to others.

  • Participates in a manner that shines a positive light on Christ and His church.


Enjoyment of a nonbeliever


  • Does not thank or praise God for His gift.

  • Is not careful of the companions they choose to find enjoyment with.

  • Does not consider the types of enjoyment they participate in nor the stumbling block they are to others.

  • Participates in a manner that shines a negative light on themself.


I know these differences because I was once that nonbeliever!

God is very gracious with His gifts, don't you think? To believers and unbelievers both, in fact! As it says in Matthew 5:45, "He maketh his sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust.” For now, we can all receive without partiality because He wants everyone to hear, believe, repent, confess, and be baptized for salvation. The question is, who will recognize it and obey? According to the Scriptures... not many. For those, their enjoyment is only temporary, while for Christians, our enjoyment will be eternal (if we don't fall from grace!).


I praise God for His gift of enjoyment that I have at this point in my life and for His promise to those who believe "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life," John 3:16. I can truly enjoy life because I know who I belong to and where I'm going. That, to Christians, changes the whole meaning of enjoyment! A nonbeliever may laugh, be rich, and seem to have it all, but they are missing the most valuable gift of all... salvation. How can there be complete enjoyment without it?


I am in my 50's, you may be somewhere else in your life. It doesn't matter. It is easier to enjoy life, living in the moment, when you know your future is secure - that you have eternal life to look forward to and that everything earthly only happens if it is God's will.


Are you enjoying life as a child of God or as an unbeliever? Know it or not, there is an eternal difference!




33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page