top of page

Living A Life Of Purpose - 7 Personal Growth Challenges To Grow As A Child Of God.

Recently I began Living A Life Of Purpose by focusing on different personal growth challenges. My purpose is to grow as a child of God and light in the world, so I created these seven specific-to-me goals that I wanted to pursue. They may not seem difficult to others, or very challenging, but they are meaningful to me. The real challenge will be in continuing them throughout my life, thus continuing my growth.





1. Living A Life Of Purpose Challenge: SAYING THANK YOU!


Being thankful, for me, is not the challenge so much as is remembering to say it. LOL. I am honestly so very thankful and grateful whenever anyone does the slightest thing for me. My issue is that sometimes, especially when I'm feeling a bit silly or awkward, I might brush off a compliment, for instance, with something like an, "Oh, this old thing," kind of remark. Then we usually laugh and move on and before long I realize I never actually thanked them!  


I don't do things for others in order to receive thanks, but it does warm my heart when someone appreciates my efforts enough to say thank you. I know that, and I want others to know I appreciate their thoughts, prayers, actions, words, and the time and effort they're making for me. A lot goes on in a person's day, so the time they take for me is precious. I want to be better at being thankful. I will start thanking others with a warm look and sincere heart. Silly can come later. Above all, I want to remember to thank God for all He does in my life!


And the Scriptures say:

"In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you."

I Thessalonians 5:18


2. Living A Life Of Purpose Challenge: LETTING GO OF THINGS I CANNOT CONTROL!


I've been a mom for thirty years now, had job positions with some authority, and made lots of decisions in my life that I had control over. A sense of control, anyway. But there will always be those times when I'm out of my depth. Maybe it's an illness, disaster, or financial issue - something I have no control over and have to leave it in someone else's hands. Maybe it's about someone's behavior or what they think about me. Or maybe, or maybe, or maybe. There are so many situations that I may not be in control of and never will be. Those will be moments l need to let go of the frustration, stress, and anxiety that sometimes comes over me and leave it in God's hands.


It's so easy to go through life thinking, "I've got this," when I really don't have it at all. I want to be better at leaning on my faith in God knowing that no matter what life brings me, it is He that is in control. Everything He does is for my own good and the good of the Kingdom. I can trust in Him and release any of that weight I may have on my shoulders.

 

And the Scriptures say:

"Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths."

Proverbs 3:5-6


3. Living A Life Of Purpose Challenge: HAVING CONFIDENCE TO ASK, "BUT WHAT DOES GOD SAY?"


I have lived my entire life, as most people probably have, hearing and learning various spiritual beliefs. And as I grew in faith and understanding while studying the scriptures, I've learned that a lot of what I heard was mistaken. My problem is that whenever I hear someone say something contrary to God's Word or scoff at something, I generally clam up. It's what I've learned is best in order to not make waves. But it has taken a toll on my heart, and I've thought long and hard, and prayed, about how I can change that. The answer came simply - when I hear something that isn't scriptural, or someone has said something that I just can't let go in good conscience, rather than ignore it, I will simply ask, "But what does God say?"


"But what does God say?" is wonderfully simple, straightforward, and to the point. It doesn't call on anyone to respond (though it could become a wonderful moment of Bible study and conversation) and it's not confrontational. What it does is create a new and profound perspective. It's the kind of question that hovers in the air, making one think. And hopefully, they will be moved to question what God says and find a new and sincere curiosity to study and know the scriptures for themselves rather than believe blindly.


I've used this only once before, on social media, but haven't yet in person. I know the opportunity is waiting right around the corner and I want to have the confidence to ask it. So I am going to challenge myself to ask, "But what does God say?" whether to family, friends, or complete strangers when something unscriptural needs to be addressed. I want to have a love for everyone's soul, and that requires the courage and confidence to bring a misunderstanding to attention. This simple question leaves room for hope, conversation, and planting a seed. I'm all in for trying this challenge!

 

And the Scriptures say:

“Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the LORD thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.”

Joshua 1:9


4. Living A Life Of Purpose Challenge: LISTENING FOR THE "NO."


Isn't it funny how we pray for the things we want and are willing to wait for the answer for however long it takes - assuming it will be a positive one? We are so certain of answered prayers being a "yes" that we rarely think there'll be a "no." In fact, our Heavenly Father says "no" all the time. He says it for recovery of illnesses, a long life for children, that man you think you want to marry, your career choice, etc. We just don't always recognize it.


Listening for the "no" means that when I pray I don't want to just listen for the answers I want to hear, but to purposely listen for the answer I may not want to hear... His answer of "no." Essentially, IT IS the answer I'll want to hear. If I want anything from my God, it is His protection, His promises, His love for me - His child. If I have faith I will know that His answer will be in my best interest and the interest of the Kingdom, so I can trust and believe without question. Of course, His answer may be in response to my lack of faith or wrong motives. Hopefully, I will glean that if that is the case and make a heartfelt change. Regardless of His reason, it is His to make and is for the best.


For this challenge, I am going to make an intentional effort, when I pray for something, to not simply listen for the answer I want in the moment, but to listen for that answer that may be better for God's Plan - His "no." In those instances, I can be reassured that His grace is sufficient for me (2 Cor 12:9) and can move forward in peace.  


And the Scriptures say:

“For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

Isaiah 55:9


5. Living A Life Of Purpose Challenge: ACKNOWLEDGING "IF THE LORD IS WILLING."


It seems that each day is filled with some type of planning ahead about some appointment, trip, schedule, and whatnot, without much thought as to whether it was even in God's plan for me. I know I don't mean to leave God out of it, I just start thinking about something and it goes from there. I'm pretty good about praying when the time comes for something to occur and thanking Him, but this is something I wish to grow in as a child of God - especially since Scripture says we "ought to say" it.


As I work on this, though, I don't want it to just become something of a habitual response. I don't want to just be saying, "God willing," every time I open my mouth turning them into empty words, but I want to acknowledge that it is really only going to happen if God is willing for it to. And really, what's the point otherwise!


Today, I will start making a concerted effort to verbally acknowledge if the Lord is willing when I look ahead. My future, even the next hour, is unknown to me, but God knows. And there is no one better to trust in!

 

And the Scriptures say:

"Whereas ye know not what shall be on the morrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away. For that ye ought to say, If the Lord will, we shall live, and do this, or that."

James 4:14-15


6. Living A Life Of Purpose Challenge: READING THE SCRIPTURES DAILY!


This is actually a goal I've been working on for a while now and one that has come to mean a great deal to me.... in a noticeable kind of way. The days that I fail to read the Scriptures are days that truly have something missing! Do you know what I mean? If I don't get that time alone to reflect on God's Word, my entire being knows it! BUT, when I do, I know that too! The people around me can probably tell too, even if they are unaware of why. Lol. There is a wholly fulfilling experience to be had when communing with God in prayer and studying His Word. It really does make a difference! Of course, I also study with my brothers and sisters in Christ when we get together for Bible studies, and I get a lot out of that too, but my time alone is especially wonderful and important. I get something deeper out of it. It centers me.


My time studying is not set out to be structured. I don't ever put demands on it such as a specific time of day - because I know myself! I just use the time as it presents itself, and I sit down in a quiet place to read and study. Sometimes that means studying certain subjects and other times, like now, I read the whole book. My Bible is the Holman KJV Study Bible. Some people don't like the thee-and-thou style of the KJV and prefer more modern versions. That's up to them.


I added this goal to read the Scriptures daily to my challenges to keep as a constant reminder of its importance and the impact it has on my life. Because of it, I have a closer relationship with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and Almighty God and that's precious to me.

 

And the Scriptures say:

"But he answered and said, It is written, Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceedeth out of the mouth of God."

Matthew 4:4


7. Living A Life Of Purpose Challenge: LIVING JOYFULLY!


Just seeing the word, JOY, makes me happy and lifts my spirits. Aren't some words funny like that?  Scriptures have so much to say on this subject, so I thought I would just make a list of some of the many beautiful verses that include the word JOY.


*Isaiah 51:11

"Therefore the redeemed of the LORD shall return, and come with singing unto Zion; and everlasting joy shall be upon their head: they shall obtain gladness and joy; and sorrow and mourning shall flee away."

*Psalms 126:5

"They that sow in tears shall reap in joy."

*James 1:2

"My brethren, count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations;"

*3 John 1:4

"I have no greater joy than to hear that my children walk in truth."

*Isaiah 12:3

"Therefore with joy shall ye draw water out of the wells of salvation."

*John 16:24

"Hitherto have ye asked nothing in my name: ask, and ye shall receive, that your joy may be full."

*Galatians 5:22

"But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith,"

*Philippians 2:2

"Fulfil ye my joy, that ye be likeminded, having the same love, being of one accord, of one mind."

*Acts 2:28

"Thou hast made known to me the ways of life; thou shalt make me full of joy with thy countenance."

*1 Peter 4:13

"But rejoice, inasmuch as ye are partakers of Christ's sufferings; that, when his glory shall be revealed, ye may be glad also with exceeding joy."

*Luke 15:10

"Likewise, I say unto you, there is joy in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner that repenteth."

*Luke 2:10

"And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people."

*1 Peter 1:8

"Whom having not seen, ye love; in whom, though now ye see him not, yet believing, ye rejoice with joy unspeakable and full of glory:"

*Matthew 13:20

"But he that received the seed into stony places, the same is he that heareth the word, and anon (straightway) with joy receiveth it;"

*Luke 15:7

"I say unto you, that likewise joy shall be in heaven over one sinner that repenteth, more than over ninety and nine just persons, which need no repentance."

*Romans 15:13

"Now the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that ye may abound in hope, through the power of the Holy Ghost."

*Psalms 5:11

"But let all those that put their trust in thee rejoice: let them ever shout for joy, because thou defendest them: let them also that love thy name be joyful in thee."


I want to have more joy in my heart and in this journey called life, so I will cease from brooding over the evil things of this world and leave them in God's hands, strive to keep my feet on the narrow road with my focus on Christ, immerse myself in the Word, and fellowship with the saints. If I can do that, I will succeed in living joyfully!


 And the Scriptures say:

" Be glad in the LORD, and rejoice, ye righteous: and shout for joy, all ye that are upright in heart."

Psalms 32:11



Are you working on some personal growth challenges in your life?

Feel free to share below!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page